Groups Public Event

* R4.8 Teleconference & Webcast (Conference Call)
Name * R4.8 Teleconference & Webcast (Conference Call)
Time Tuesday, 14 August 2012, 02:30pm to 04:30pm EDT
Location 888 325 3976 (Toll Free) or 719 457 1076
Call-in number: 888-325-3976 (Toll Free) or +1 719-457-1076 (Toll/International)
Participant Code: 596543
MUTE / UNMUTE—Use *6 to mute or unmute your line during this call as needed.
If the URLs provided below take you to a different page/site, please cut-n-paste the URL directly into your browser.
1. Conduct a test to ensure your computer is set up with the appropriate tools to participate in an Adobe Acrobat Connect Professional Meeting. To do this, click on the Test Meeting Connection URL located here:

2. 15 minutes prior to the meeting start time, click on the link below.

Go to:  
3. On the Sign-In page, please sign in as GUEST and enter your company name in brackets followed by your first and last name. Example: [Company] John Doe.
No audio recording will be permitted. This meeting will be conducted in compliance with CEA Legal Guides and EP-23-N Standards Development Procedures (see Participants are expected to read and be familiar with those requirements.



1) Call to Order/Introductions

2) Quorum Determination

3) Approve Agenda

4) Approve 5/16/12 Meeting Minutes

5) Action Item Status

a) Action 1: Chair Thomsen and Staff to prepare an outreach inquiry seeking the interest of

companies/individuals willing to participate in revising ANSI/CEA775.2A, ANSI/CEA775

C and ANSI/CEA849B. The inquiry will be issued to R4, R4.3, R4.8, 1394TA and if possible

past purchasers of these standards.

b) Action 2 WG5 to study and decide on how they want to proceed re: CEA-770.3 and advise R4.8 at

next meeting. (WG5)

c) Action 3 – Look into sales history of CEA849 for first WG call (Levine)

d) Action 4 – Call for people in R4.8 that if they care about 775 and 849 to  get involved or they

will be reaffirmed without review

6) Project Initiations for FiveYear Review

R4.8 discussion & decision re: CEA-775, CEA-775.2, CEA-849 5-year reviews.

7) Working Group Reports

WG5 Component Video Interfaces (Avila – MPAA)

Vote to Initiate project for CEA-770.3-D 5-year Reaffirmation.

WG7 Uncompressed AV Interfaces (Stockfisch – Quantum Data; Gawel –Toshiba)

WG10  PlugFests (Staff)

WG12 Document Maintenance (Krauss – NCTA)

  • Recirculation vote on reaffirmation of CEA-679-C, National Renewable Security Standard (NRSS)
  • Recirculation vote on withdrawal of CEA-818-E, Cable Compatibility Requirements

8) Other Business

9) Next Meeting Agenda

10) Schedule Additional Meetings

11) Adjourn

Submitter / Contact Mr. Mark Levine
Group R04.08 DTV Interface Subcommittee
Access This event is visible to R04.08 DTV Interface Subcommittee and shared with:
  • Consumer Technology Association (General Membership)
  • General Public
  • CTA Staff
  • CTA Master Calendar
Counts toward voter eligibility yes
Public URL

Meeting Attendees   Spreadsheet
Company ascending Name Interest Category Role
AT&T Inc Phyllis Anderson User Member
Charter Communications Don Watson General Interest Member
Comcast Cable Jerry Parkins General Interest Member
Consumer Electronics Association Mark Levine Manager
Consumer Electronics Association Brian Markwalter Member
Consumer Electronics Association Dave Wilson Member
Cox Enterprises, Inc. Steve Watkins User Member
DIRECTV Inc. Producer Member
Dolby Laboratories Inc. Oren Williams General Interest Member
EchoStar Satellite, L.L.C. John Card II Producer Member
Ericsson Matthew Goldman General Interest Member
Hitachi Paul Thomsen Producer Group Chair
Home Box Office (HBO) Andres Colpa User Member
LG Electronics Wayne Bretl Producer Member
LG Electronics Wayne Luplow Producer Member
Motion Picture Association of America Andrea Avila Weiler General Interest Member
Motorola Mobility, Inc. Yeqing Wang General Interest Member
National Association of Broadcasters Art Allison General Interest Member
National Cable Telecommunications Assoc. Jeffrey Krauss General Interest Member
Nielsen Michael Dolan General Interest Member
Panasonic Corporation Will Ikeda Producer Member
Quantum Data, Inc. Mark Stockfisch Producer Member
Samsung Electronics Martin Freeman Producer Member
Sony Electronics Inc. Robert Blanchard Producer Member
Sony Electronics Inc. Mark Eyer Producer Member
Technicolor Peter Kaars Member
Toshiba Daniel Young Producer Member
TP Vision Holding B.V. Leo Rozendaal General Interest Member
W W Johnston Technologies, LLC Warner Johnston General Interest Member

Meeting Statistics
Quorum rule 51% of voting companies
Achieved quorum no
Individual Attendance Contributing Members: 29 of 100 (28%)
Voting Members: 26 of 93 (27%)
Company Attendance Contributing Companies: 25 of 60 (41%)
Voting Companies: 24 of 58 (41%) (used for quorum calculation)